How to delete a Google Gmail account – ABOUT MAG 2020

You can delete a Gmail account and all messages in it, while maintaining Google, YouTube and other related accounts.

How to delete your Gmail account

How to delete your Gmail account

These instructions apply to all desktop users, regardless of the operating system.

See how to cancel a Gmail account and delete the associated Gmail address.

  1. Select Data and Personalization.

    Data and personalization tab on the Google Account website

  2. On the displayed page, scroll down until Download, delete or plan your data.

  3. Click Delete a service or your account.

    Delete a service or your account

    You can also choose Delete Google account and data to remove your entire Google account (including your search history, Google Docs, AdWords and AdSense, and other Google services).

  4. So choose Delete a service on the next page as well.

    Delete a service

  5. You will be asked to log in to your account.

  6. On the next page, you can choose the service you want to delete. If you want to delete a Gmail account, click the icon trash can icon (๐Ÿ—‘) next to Gmail.

    Screenshot of the trash icon when clicking when deleting your Gmail account on the Google website

  7. Enter one email address different from the address associated with the Gmail account you are closing at Enter an email address in the How will you sign in to Google dialog box.

    Gmail may have already entered the secondary address you used when creating your Gmail account. The alternate email address you enter here becomes your new Google Account username.

    Make sure to enter an email address that you have access to. You need the email address to complete the deletion of your Gmail account.

  8. ClickWhat others are sayingSee morek Send verification email.

    Screenshot of Send verification email at How do you sign in to the Google web dialog

  9. Open Google email (no-reply@accounts.google.com) with the subject “Security alert for your linked Google account” or “Gmail deletion confirmation”.

  10. follow the exclusion link in the message.

  11. If prompted, log in to Gmail account you are excluding.

  12. Under Confirm deletion from Gmail, click Select. Yes, I want to delete example@gmail.com permanently from my Google Account.

  13. You cannot undo this step. After clicking on it, your Gmail account and messages disappear.

What happens to emails in the deleted Gmail account?

The messages will be permanently deleted. You will no longer be able to access them in Gmail.

If you downloaded a copy, use Google Takeout or using an email program, you can still use these messages, of course.

If you used IMAP to access Gmail in your email program, only messages copied to the local folder will be kept; emails on the server and folders synced to the deleted Gmail account will be deleted.

What happens to emails sent to my deleted Gmail address?

People who send your old Gmail address will get back a delivery failure message. You can advertise a new or alternate old address for the contacts you care about most.

Paula Fonseca