Transfer Drive files to a new owner – About Your Online Magazine


As an administrator, you can change the owner of the files in Drive. For example, if someone leaves the company, you can transfer that person’s files to someone else. That way, you can save your files before deleting your account.

Alternatively, we recommend using shared drives to store files. All files on a shared drive are collectively owned, meaning that if a person leaves, other members of the shared drive will still be able to access the files. This prevents files from being deleted when the owner’s account is deleted.

Learn more about shared drives, Including access levels and requirements It is like migrate existing content to a shared drive.

Observation: If you transfer ownership of many files and folders at once, it may take some time to see the changes.

Transfer files from Drive

Transfer a file

As an administrator, you can also transfer individual files using the Google Drive APIs.

Transfer all files for a user

As an administrator, you can transfer all files for a user to a new owner.

Grades:

  • Only files owned by one user can be transferred to another user, who becomes the new owner.
  • You can also migrate a user’s content to a shared drive. Files on a shared drive are not deleted when a user account is deleted, as the content is the collective property of all participants.
  • The hierarchical structure of the previous owner is the same as in the new owner’s Drive.
  • Existing shared documents are not affected by the transfer.
  • Some files are not moved:
    • Google Photos and Maps are not transferred.
    • Files and folders in the user’s Recycle Bin are not transferred, so remove files from the Recycle Bin if they need to be retained. Otherwise, files in the Recycle Bin will be deleted when a user is deleted.
    • Orphaned files are not moved, so move them to My user disk if they need to be transferred:
      1. In the Drive search field, type: is: unorganized owner:
      2. Move all orphaned files found to My user’s disk.

Learn more about shared drives, including how migrate existing content to a shared drive.

Before you start

Current owner account

  • We recommend that the current owner’s account is suspended. This helps to ensure that new content is not created or moved during the transfer.

New owner account

  • Make sure the new owner’s account is active.
  • Tell the new owner not to add files to Google Drive during the transfer.
  • Make sure the new owner have enough Drive storage. If not, you can:
    • Buy more space for them
    • Transfer files to someone else’s account
    • Redistribute files between multiple users

Transfer ownership

  1. On the Admin Console home page, go to Appsand thenGoogle Workspaceand thenDrive and Docs.

  2. Click Transfer ownership.
    Observation: You need the Drive service privilege and data transfer privileges to see this option.

  3. At the Of user , enter the username of the current owner and select the corresponding suggested result.

  4. At the To the user , enter the username of the new owner and select the corresponding suggested result.

  5. Click Transfer files.

    • Files are automatically moved to the new Drive owner. They appear in a folder named with the previous owner’s email address.

    • The original owner can still edit the files, unless their account is deleted or their permissions are changed. Since the files have been moved to the new owner’s Drive, the original owner will need to search for the files or access them via a link.

    • Do not suspend the new owner’s account during the transfer.

    • An email is sent to the administrator and new and old owners. The email describes whether the transfer was successful or failed.

Paula Fonseca