Mavericks claim fourth straight MacNaughton Cup | Local News – About Your Online Magazine

After struggling with an uncomfortable Bemidji State team in the beginning, the Minnesota State men’s hockey team beat the Beavers 4-3 in Thursday’s overtime at the Mayo Clinic Health System Event Center.

With the victory, MSU secured a conference record for the fourth consecutive time in the MacNaughton Cup as WCHA regular season champion. The Mavericks have won the MacNaughton Cup in five of the past eight seasons.

The Mavericks took a 3-1 lead early in the second period, after Brendan Furry scored 57 seconds in the period, and Andy Carroll fired a wrist shot less than a minute later.

MSU took a 3-2 lead in third, but the Beavers tied the game with just 22 seconds remaining.

Julian Napravnik won the game at 4:09 am from overtime, after his cross pass was deflected by a Beavers defender. MSU goalkeeper Dryden McKay made several important saves in overtime to keep the Mavericks there.

MSU (16-2-1, 11-0) will end his series with the Beavers at 6:07 pm. Saturday in Bemidji.

Paula Fonseca