Kansas is home to almost two million licensed drivers and each driver will receive exclusive Kansas car insurance rates based on personal factors. The cost of car insurance varies from person to person and is based on several individual factors, such as age, driving history and sex. Kansas drivers pay an average of $ 410 per year for minimum coverage and $ 1,698 for full coverage policies. Although age and driving history are used to determine premiums, your zip code, credit score and vehicle and history are also important factors in determining Kansas car insurance rates.
How much does car insurance cost in Kansas?
The average cost of auto insurance in Kansas is based on several points, including where you live and your vehicle. Other factors, such as your driving record, age, credit score and miles driven, are used to determine your Kansas car insurance rates.
Kansas auto insurance rates are on par with the National average. The average annual premium in Kansas is $ 410 for minimum coverage and $ 1,698 for full coverage. The averages in the United States are $ 565 and $ 1,647 respectively, which means that you can pay a little less for minimal coverage in Kansas versus other states.
Kansas auto insurance rates, by company
Kansas car insurance rates are influenced by a variety of factors, including the operator you choose. If you want to find the best car insurance in kansas, it is advisable to review several carriers to compare rates and general ratings for customer service and financial strength.
|Car Insurance||Average annual premium for minimum coverage||Average annual premium for full coverage|
|Allstate||$ 476||$ 1,792|
|American family||$ 531||$ 1,858|
|Car Owners||$ 278||$ 1,393|
|Electrical Insurance Company||$ 421||$ 2,891|
|Farmers||$ 362||$ 1,335|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$ 325||$ 1,494|
|MetLife||$ 426||$ 1,963|
|Progressive||$ 446||$ 1,644|
|QBE||$ 340||$ 1,208|
|Safe Auto||$ 577||$ 2,246|
|Sentinel||$ 654||$ 2,322|
|Shelter||$ 658||$ 2,347|
|State Farm||$ 335||$ 1,280|
|USAA||$ 239||$ 1,225|
Kansas auto insurance rates by city
Your Postal Code strongly affects the amount you pay for car insurance rates in Kansas. Those who live in more populated areas, like Wichita and Kansas City, tend to pay higher fees than those who live in less populated areas, like Hays.
|City||Average annual premium for full coverage||% difference from the average annual premium of the state|
|Overland park||$ 1,522||-10%|
|Kansas City||$ 1,881||11%|
|Garden City||$ 1,928||14%|
|Dodge city||$ 1,920||13%|
|Junction City||$ 1,542||-9%|
Kansas auto insurance rates by age
Age is a huge factor with the average car insurance rates in Kansas. 18- and 20-year-olds tend to pay the highest premiums, while rates continually decrease (on average) the older you get. Rates tend to increase slightly when you are over 70.
* 16 years calculated based on disclosure of parent policy
Kansas car insurance rates per driving record
Drivers are human, which means that fines and accidents can happen at any time. If you get a ticket for a traffic violation, an accident, or driving while under the influence of drugs, you will likely see an increase in your Kansas car insurance rates.
|Driving incident||Kansas average annual total coverage premium||% increase in average annual premium|
|Speeding ticket||$ 2,028||19%|
How to Save on Kansas Car Insurance
Drivers can save in a variety of ways on their Kansas car insurance rates. One of the most effective ways to save is to make the most of discounts. Look for discounts like:
- Settled: If you prefer to pay your annual premiums in one go rather than monthly installments, you should receive a discount and avoid paying unnecessary convenience fees. There may even be additional discounts available if you renew your policy several days before the policy’s end date.
- Safety equipment: Safety features like airbags, anti-theft system, anti-lock brakes and airbags can make you eligible for a discount. Also, ask about a discount on seat belt use, which is another safety feature.
- New car: Those who drive a newer car, usually one less than a year old, are usually entitled to a new car discount.
- Safe driver: Most operators have discount options for a safe driver. If you want to install a telematics device via bluetooth or connect to an application that tracks your driving skills, you can save on your prizes. Discounts they are based on the feedback you receive and your personal driving habits.
Kansas is considered a blameless state?
Yes, Kansas is considered a faultless state. This means that all drivers involved in a vehicle accident must file a claim with their own car insurer, regardless of the driver who is found guilty of the accident.
What is the minimum Kansas auto insurance value that I must purchase?
Kansas has not only minimal responsibility insurance requirements, but it also has minimum requirements for faultless and uninsured / underinsured coverage for drivers, including:
- $ 25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $ 50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $ 25,000 per accident for property damage
Personal injury protection (PIP) of $ 4,500 per person for medical expenses is required, as well as $ 25,000 per person, $ 50,000 per accident under uninsured / poorly insured driver (UI / UM) coverage.
How much does Kansas car insurance cost per month?
For minimal coverage, Kansas car insurance costs an average of $ 34 per month. Kansas drivers pay an average of $ 142 a month.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and operators in all 50 states and Washington, DC The rates quoted are based on a 40-year-old driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following complete coverage limits:
- Personal injury liability of $ 100,000 per person
- $ 300,000 accident liability
- Liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- Personal injury from uninsured drivers $ 100,000 per person
- Personal injury from uninsured drivers $ 300,000 per accident
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Comprehensive $ 500 franchise
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our entry-level drivers own a Toyota Camry 2019, travel five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only.
Was: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages of 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), failed accident, single speed fine, conviction for single DUI and expiry of coverage.